marshmallow crunch brownie bars

Forgive my delay in getting this recipe to you. I’ve been sitting on the couch sick with a summer cold and unable to move for the past three days. Today is the first day I’ve been able to put on actual clothes and get myself together. Add to that a confusion about my class schedule for my next two years, and you have a lack of any new post.

So, what is all this confusion about? Well, I’ve finally discovered a way, with the help of my faculty mentor of course, that I can study abroad this spring semester in Madrid, Spain. Awesome, right? Well, now I have to change my two-year plan to account for classes that I can’t or don’t want to take abroad.

But, onto the brownies. I must say how proud I am of myself because of these brownies. These might be the best brownies I have ever made. They’re super rich, super gooey, super chocolatey, with a delcious crunch from Rice Krispies on top.

Forgive me for making this post short. I haven’t eaten breakfast yet, and I am starving. So, the mere mention of Rice Krispies cereal has sent me into a tizzy. Until next time, whenever that may be.

Marshmallow Crunch Brownie Bars

Adapted, slightly, from Brown Eyed Baker
Makes 24 Servings

Ingredients:

4 oz. unsweetened chocolate
2/3 c. unsalted butter
4 oz. semisweet chocolate
1 1/3 c. all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
4 eggs
2 c. granulated sugar
2 tsp. vanilla extract
¾ c. milk chocolate chips

½ 12 oz. bag  (6 oz.) miniature marshmallows
1 ½ c. milk chocolate chips
1 c. smooth peanut butter
1 tbsp. unsalted butter
1 ½ c. Rice Krispies cereal

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium saucepan, melt unsweetened chocolate, butter, and semisweet chocolate over medium heat, stirring frequently so as not to burn. Cool for 5 minutes.

Sift together flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, and vanilla. Add in melted chocolate. Stir in dry ingredients. Fold in ¾ c. milk chocolate chips.

Pour into a greased 9 x 13” pan. Smooth the surface. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into a corner comes out with moist crumbs.

As soon as brownies come out of oven, top with an even layer of marshmallows. Bake for an additional 3 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan over medium low heat, melt 1 ½ c. milk chocolate chips, peanut butter, and 1 tbsp. unsalted butter over medium low heat, stirring constantly. When melted, mix in cereal. Cool for 3 minutes. Spread in an even layer over marshmallow layer.

Cool completely in refrigerator before serving.

3 thoughts on “marshmallow crunch brownie bars

  1. aunt cheryl

    hope you are feeling better. awesome about spain! really wish we lived closer so i could eat up these brownies. now i have to make them myself. they sound wonderful!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: top recipes of 2011 | Drag it Through the Garden

Leave a Reply

