sausage, mushroom, and parmesan bread pudding

sausage, mushroom, and parmesan bread pudding | dragitthroughthegarden.wordpress.comI am pretty sure Lauren was fully convinced of my craziness upon serving this meal. Bread pudding? For dinner? Without ice cream? Pretty crazy ideas in this household.

This dish definitely deserves one of those “Best of…” stamps of approval they put in magazines. Not that I don’t love every dish on here… I wouldn’t post them without my utmost approval But, this dish is something special. It’s savory, crunchy, and creamy all at the same time. Yum.

I swear I am not crazy.

I promise I am not certifiable, but some people might think I am crazy. Well, more ditzy than crazy… and trust me, that’s not by my own definition. But, I promise I know what I am talking about. Most of the time.

I wouldn’t necessarily call myself ditzy. Just smart… in a unique, not duct-taped glasses, frizzy hair, and nasal-y voice sort of way. And not smart in the way that I sound like I actually know the answer when I give you an answer. And let’s be honest, I never ever raise my hand in class.

I am just unique. And I am okay with that.

I am also okay with a second helping of this dinner…

sausage, mushroom, and parmesan bread pudding | dragitthroughthegarden.wordpress.com

sausage, mushroom, and parmesan bread pudding

Makes 10-12 Servings

Ingredients:
1 1-pound loaf of bread (I used challah, but use whatever you like), cut into 1-inch cubes
¼ cup plus 2 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 clove garlic, minced
16 oz. Italian seasoned pork sausage, casings removed
6 tablespoons butter
12 oz. assorted mushrooms (I used all cremini), cut into bite-sized pieces
1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped
2 celery stalks, finely chopped
1 medium red bell pepper, finely chopped
2 ½ cups heavy whipping cream
1 cup milk
8 large eggs
Salt and pepper, to taste
½ cup finely grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 375°F. Toss bread with ¼ cup olive oil, thyme, and garlic and salt and pepper to taste on a sheet pan. Spread out in a single layer. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes, tossing occasionally so that all sides are toasty.

Meanwhile, heat 2 teaspoons olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add sausage and cook through, about 10 minutes, breaking it up into smaller pieces with a wooden spoon. Remove to a separate plate.

Melt butter in the same skillet over medium heat. Add mushrooms, onion, celery, and bell pepper. Season with salt and pepper. Cook until vegetables are tender and juices have evaporated, about 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9×13” baking dish. In a large bowl, whisk together cream, milk, eggs, and salt and pepper.

Once vegetables are cooked, toss together toasted bread, sausage, and vegetables. Distribute in the prepared baking dish. Evenly pour cream mixture over the top. Bake in the preheated oven until custard is set and top is browned, about 60 minutes. Let sit for a few minutes before serving. 

Source: Adapted from Epicurious

 

Leave a comment