chocolate filled cookie pockets

Nostalgia has never been on my to-do list, but somehow it always seems to hit me smack in the face when I least expect it. I am unsure why it is so out of the blue; most likely it’s my age. I’ve only got a little under 20 years to get nostalgic about. But, there it goes… I’m cleaning out my closet and see an art project that reminds me of a few years ago or I’m driving and a song comes on the radio that sends me spiraling into my memories. Today it was the cookie recipe book, my favorite when I first started baking, that I found while digging around the pantry.

Although Mrs. Field’s Best Cookie Book Ever contains many delicious cookie and dessert recipes, it often got me into a lot of trouble when I was younger. More times than I can count, the kitchen was left a disaster zone with no dishes washed and flour all over the counter. Not to mention, most of the cookies, at no fault of the recipes, turned out rock-hard and inedible. Nevertheless, Mrs. Field’s Cookie Book and I reunited today in an adventure to create her chocolate filled cookie pockets. Even though I would love to tell you an interesting story about when I made these when I was younger, I can’t… but blame my mother (or me) for that one. While these are far from complicated now, the most difficult recipe I used during this recipe book’s peak days was a drop cookie; stray from drop cookies and the kitchen probably would’ve turned into a whirlwind of terror and again… inedibility.

Please excuse me, but I must take a moment to congratulate myself on the success of this recipe; they are far from rock solid and to top it all off, they’re not drop cookies! Oh, and an added bonus, I already cleaned up all the dishes. I must be on top of it today. And without any further adieu, I present the recipe.


Chocolate Filled Cookie Pockets

Print this recipe

adapted from Mrs. Fields Best Cookie Book Ever
Makes a little over one dozen cookies

Ingredients:

3/4 c. unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. plus 1/4 c. powdered sugar, divided
1/4 c. packed brown sugar
2 large egg yolks
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 c. heavy cream
3 oz. milk chocolate chips
3 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
2 tbsp. granulated sugar

Cream butter with 1/2 c. powdered sugar and brown sugar with an electric mixer set on medium. Mix in egg yolks and vanilla extract. Add flour and mix on low until combined, but do not overmix. Form mixture into a disk, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least one hour.

Heat the cream just until it is about to boil but do NOT boil. Remove from heat. Add in chocolate chips and stir until smooth.  Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate, stirring every 15 minutes for a maximum of one hour. Make sure this filling does not completely harden. (If it does, leave out at room temperature until a mix-able consistency is reached.)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Remove dough from refrigerator to a well-floured surface. With a floured rolling pin, roll to 1/4-inch and cut into 2-inch diameter circles. Re-roll scraps.

Add 1 tsp. ganache filling to the center of a cookie circle. Cover with another circle and press around outsides to ensure complete enclosure. Repeat with remaining cookie circles. Transfer to a baking sheet.

Sprinkle with granulated sugar. Bake for 15-17 minutes, until lightly golden but not browned. Transfer immediately to a cool surface. Dust with remaining powdered sugar, if desired.

3 thoughts on “chocolate filled cookie pockets

  1. Linda Gray

    I love every single recipe on this site!! Yummy! You’re quite the chef, writer and photographer. Fabulous work ~ keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

