ham and swiss mini sandwiches with poppy seed glaze



I have only one piece of advice for you: make these sandwiches. Make them for a work function or a dinner party. Make them for a school get-together or for a neighbor’s house warming. I don’t care what you make them for… you just have to make them! But don’t just make them for you; make them for someone else too.

I’ll tell you a little story about these party sandwiches. Once upon a time way back in freshman year of high school, I made these sandwiches for a fiesta in my Spanish class. Then, they were specially requested for a History review session after school. Right before my eyes, these sandwiches were making me popular (kind of…). Before I knew it, no matter what the school occasion, every person in my class knew to ask me to make those sandwiches I was so famous for. No longer could I sign up for soda or napkins on the sign-up sheet before the class party. No longer could I pretend as if I had forgotten the special event that day at school. I was forever attached to these sandwiches.

I was even voted Most Likely to Open a Sandwich Shop in my Spanish class my senior year of high school solely for these little ham and swiss poppy-seed glazed sandwiches. But, hey, I was also voted Most likely to Open for Blink-182 earlier that year, and we all can see how far I got with that one.

Anyhow, what I’m trying to say (and I know I’m taking forever to say it) is MAKE THESE SANDWICHES! Everyone will love you… and you’ll love yourself for trying them, too.

Ham and Swiss Party Sandwiches with Poppy-Seed Glaze

Makes 24 sandwiches

Click for an easier to read version without pictures
Print this recipe

1 package or 24 dollar rolls

1/2 lb. sliced deli ham

1/4 lb. sliced Swiss cheese

1 stick butter, melted

4 tbsp. brown sugar

2 tsp. poppy seeds

2 tbsp. Dijon mustard

2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Slice rolls in half to make a bun. Distribute ham and cheese evenly among the sandwiches. Place in a baking dish.

Combine melted butter, brown sugar, poppy seeds, mustard, and Worcestershire sauce in a small bowl. Pour evenly over the sandwiches in the baking dish. Bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the sauce has slightly hardened.

12 thoughts on “ham and swiss mini sandwiches with poppy seed glaze

  1. Pingback: Seven Links Challenge | Drag it Through the Garden

  2. Pingback: top recipes of 2011 | Drag it Through the Garden

  3. tasha

    Found you via Pinterest; made these recently for a football night for my hubby and his buddies. They were a hit. This is going into the recipe vault! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: lightened up poppy seed chicken casserole | Drag it Through the Garden

  5. Pingback: top five of 2012 | Drag it Through the Garden

  6. Pingback: baked ham and swiss sandwiches with poppy seeds | Drag it Through the Garden

  7. mariel

    LOVE THESE! learned from my best friend’s mom a million years ago. Addictive! I want to bring it to a potluck but not sure if they will be as good baked, then stored, then microwaved. What did you do back in HS? They’ll have to wait about 2 hrs before they can be eaten. Should I just leave them wrapped on the counter, baked?

    Reply
    1. Colleen Post author

      I wouldn’t recommend microwaving these if you’re looking to retain that crispy top. In high school, I popped them in the oven so they would be ready to go as soon as I was ready. They stayed pretty warm covered with foil. I would say, just bake the sandwiches so they’re done just when you’re ready to leave and then cover them tightly with foil. If worse comes to worst, pop them in the microwave for a few seconds, but not long enough for them to start steaming. I am very happy that you enjoyed this recipe!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

