okra succotash

I feel like a five-year old saying this but, to tell the truth, I don’t really like that many vegetables. And most of the vegetables I do eat slightly resemble mushy baby food (we’re talking canned and overcooked). Obviously, no one else in my family wants to eat mushy baby-food resembling vegetables, so I typically don’t eat hardly as much as I should in any given day.

But, then succotash came along and hurled my poor view on vegetables out the door. I absolutely love this as a summer side dish; and I always make sure I make more than enough just for the leftovers.

I know, I know; okra can get slimy and unappealing in a heartbeat, but I promise it does not do anything but get delicious in this method. Feel free to substitute out the cranberry beans (a.k.a. shell beans) for the more traditional lima beans, but I love the slightly nutty flavor the cranberry bean adds.

Okra Succotash

View an easier to read version without pictures
Print this recipe

Makes 8 Servings

Ingredients:

kernels from 3 ears of fresh corn
5 medium tomatoes, chopped
about 20 okra spears, sliced
1 c. dried cranberry beans, soaked overnight
2 tbsp. butter
1 tbsp. red wine vinegar

Boil soaked cranberry beans for about 45 minutes or until tender. Drain and set aside.

In a large pot or dutch oven, add butter over medium heat. Add half of the tomatoes and all the okra. Allow to cook for about 20 minutes, until tender and tomatoes have turned into a thick sauce, stirring frequently. Stir in vinegar.

Gently mix in corn, cranberry beans, and remaining tomatoes. Cook for 10 more minutes. Serve.

2 thoughts on “okra succotash

Leave a Reply

