mom’s seven layer salad

A majority of this past weekend was spent cooking in the kitchen with my mom. As much as I love being in the kitchen, I will be the first to admit that I’ve had enough for a while. But, although my legs are weak and my back tired, I love that I spent all that time with my mom.

Sometimes I can be a little mean when I am in the kitchen. I prefer to be left alone; and, if someone interferes with my alone time, beware. This past weekend was the exception to the rule. Saturday morning, my mom and I worked separately on breakfast; I made my apple and brown butter jalousie and Mom worked on a beautiful fruit platter.

But, yesterday, Father’s Day, Mom and I labored away together in the kitchen for five hours, preparing a beautiful dinner and dessert. And I’ll admit, that was a whole heck of a lot better than the day before, partly because Mom does the dishes, and partly because I had the opportunity to learn recipes that I feel like I’ve been eating since the day I was born.

Mom’s Seven-Layer Salad is one of these dishes. My sister and I absolutely love this salad. But, we both know that no one will ever be able to make it as well as Mom can.

Mom’s Seven Layer Salad

Print this recipe

Makes 8 Servings

Ingredients:
4 cups torn Iceberg lettuce
1 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese, divided
2 c. sliced mushrooms
1 small red onion, sliced
2 c. chopped tomatoes
1 10-oz. package frozen green peas, cooked
¾ c. mayonnaise
¾ c. sour cream
2 tbsp. chopped basil
8 slices bacon, cooked, drained, and crumbled

In a large bowl, layer lettuce, 1 cup cheese, mushrooms, red onion, tomatoes, and peas.

In a separate bowl, combine mayonnaise, sour cream, and basil. Season with salt and pepper. Spread in an even layer over the green pea layer. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

After four hours, top with remaining ½ cup cheese and crumbled bacon, and serve.

2 thoughts on “mom’s seven layer salad

  1. alliedale

    Oh I’m the same way! Definitely a kitchen loner, I’m not very good at working with others- pretty much kept snapping at my mom yesterday to get out of her own kitchen while I worked haha!

    P.S. This salad looks intense!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: cheesy broccoli and cauliflower stuffed spuds | Drag it Through the Garden

Leave a Reply

