granny’s creamed peas

Every time I go over to Granny’s house for dinner or for a holiday, I know I can expect one of three things: vegetable soup, strawberry pretzel salad, or creamed peas. I have to admit, I am a sucker for any of the above. Put them on my plate and I’ll eat them up in a heartbeat. I’ll probably ask for seconds as well.

My sister requested these creamed peas for dinner, so my mom made them. Well, my mom had to make them, seeing as the recipe she had written down was indecipherable by my standards.

I watched her and watched her and I think I have the recipe down now, hopefully to Granny’s standards (although it’s always better at Granny’s house).

I just hope it’s okay that I’m giving away a family secret…

Granny’s Creamed Peas

Print this recipe

Makes 6 Servings

Ingredients:
2 cans green peas, drained
1 ½ c. milk
2 tbsp. flour
3 tbsp. sugar
2 tbsp. butter

Add all ingredients to a medium saucepan. Heat to boiling, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and allow to thicken slightly. Serve.

3 thoughts on “granny’s creamed peas

  1. Pingback: granny’s zucchini bread, and birthday wishes | Drag it Through the Garden

Leave a Reply

