cheesy potato casserole

You know that dish that someone made for you one time but you can’t stop thinking about it? You just have to have it. That’s what this potato casserole did to me the first time my mom made it. Then, I had it in my head that it really wouldn’t be as good as I thought the second time around. I thought I had hyped it up too much.

 

Let me tell you. I definitely did not hype. The cheesy-ness of these potatoes is to die for; but, the crunchy topping is definitely the best part. And, I will admit that I ate only the leftovers from these potatoes the next night for dinner. They’re that good. And trust me, that’s not something I would ever admit easily.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

Print this recipe

Makes 12 Servings

Ingredients:
1 package frozen hashbrowns (the diced kind, not shredded), thawed
¾ c. butter, melted and divided
1 10.75-oz. can condensed cream of chicken soup
1 c. sour cream
1 small white or yellow onion, chopped
2 tbsp. chives, minced
2 c. shredded Cheddar cheese
2 c. cornflake cereal, crushed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, combine hashbrowns, ½ c. melted butter, soup, sour cream, onion, and chives. Season with salt and pepper. Spread into a casserole dish.

In a separate small bowl, combine cornflakes with ¼ c. melted butter. Sprinkle over the potato mixture. Cover and place in preheated oven for 40 minutes. Remove cover. Bake for an additional 10 minutes, until the top is lightly browned.

 

 

3 thoughts on “cheesy potato casserole

Leave a Reply

