turtle bars

I should probably preface this post by saying that my family is building a vacation home at the Lake of the Ozarks.

Anyway, weekly or biweekly trips are required now to continue making decisions in the final building stage. Every time my mom goes to visit the builders, she thinks that she must do one of two things: bake for the builders or buy beer for the builders. Sometimes both.

Before our last trip, my mom was short on time, so I offered to make the turtle bars from the recipe she had pulled out.

These bars are so quick and easy that I’m almost positive anyone could make them on any schedule. But, you’ll never be able to tell how simple this recipe is from the taste; I swear, if my mom hadn’t already packaged most of the bars up, the whole pan could have been devoured between just my sister and me.

Turtle Bars

Print this recipe

Makes 24 Servings

Ingredients:
1 12-oz. box vanilla wafers
3/4 c. butter, melted
1 12 oz. bag semisweet chocolate chips
1 ½ c. chopped pecans
1 12-oz. jar caramel topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a sealable bag or food processor, grind vanilla wafers to a breadcrumb-like consistency. Combine with melted butter. Spread in an even layer in the bottom of a 9×13” pan.

Sprinkle chocolate chips and pecans in an even layer. Top with caramel topping.

Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Let cool , then place in the refrigerator for 20 minutes to harden. Cut into 24 pieces to serve.

One thought on “turtle bars

Leave a Reply

