ground turkey with carrots and potatoes

I may have fallen in love with one pot dinners. I can’t remember the last time I made one; a lot of them sound unappetizing to me, but occasionally I find one that sounds great. That was the case when I was perusing Gina’s Skinny Recipes the other day and found this recipe for Ground Turkey with Potatoes and Spring Peas.

This meal was so delicious and surprisingly hearty for being healthy. I made my own additions of carrots, an extra potato, and red pepper flakes. You’ll get just enough spice from the cumin and red pepper flakes, but feel free to add more if you want it spicier.

Expect to see more one-pot dinners very shortly; I’m not going to pass up any more opportunities for easy and tasty cooking adventures.

Ground Turkey with Carrots and Potatoes

Adapted from Gina’s Skinny Recipes
Makes 5 Servings

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground turkey, 93% lean
1 tsp. cumin, divided
½ tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
2 medium red potatoes, peeled and cubed
3 carrots, peeled and sliced
1 c. green peas (I used frozen and thawed)
½ c. onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium tomato, diced
8 oz. tomato sauce
¾ c. water
Bay leaf
Salt

In a large pan over medium heat, add turkey breast. Season to taste with salt, ½ tsp. cumin, and red pepper flakes.

Once turkey is fully cooked, add bay leaf, water, tomato sauce, garlic, onion, peas, carrots, potatoes, and remaining ½ tsp. cumin. Season to taste with salt.

Reduce heat to medium-low. Cover and let simmer for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove bay leaf. Serve (recommended over rice).

5 thoughts on “ground turkey with carrots and potatoes

  1. Pingback: top five of 2012 | Drag it Through the Garden

  2. KarinaRN

    I made this recipe for my family and we loved it! Tastes great with dinner rolls, too! Only thing I would add is that I had to cook it for nearly an hour to get the veggies soft. Otherwise, a little more garlic on my end made for a delicious recipe. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

