granny’s zucchini bread, and birthday wishes

I’ve been waiting a while for this day. I’m young enough where this day brings excitement and not annual dread. It’s true… it’s my birthday, 20th to be exact. I didn’t make any plans today, outside of dinner reservations at a nice Italian restaurant. So, yes, happy birthday to me!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, quite a bit of difference from my middle-of-the-summer fervor. But, I’ve been busy… and I haven’t been cooking much lately. I just got home from a week-long vacation at the Lake of the Ozarks. I met an adorable stray dog down there, a black lab mix we named Pearl. Out of some stream of good luck or the answers to my prayers, Pearl’s parents found her. She had been missing since July 4 and was on the brink of starvation when I found her. She was seriously one of the best and well-behaved dogs I had known (outside of my own, of course!), especially for only being one and a half years old.

Anyway, enough about that! On to the recipe. I was at Granny’s house a couple of weeks ago (remember Granny’s Creamed Peas?). Granny had made a loaf of zucchini bread and, of course, we had a slice after dinner. Delicious. Seriously. She took me out into Grandpa’s garden and gave me two huge zucchini and the recipe to her bread.

There’s quite a bit of cinnamon in here, but I promise it is by no means overpowering. It gives an added (and I think needed) spice to this bread that sets it apart from others. Add the crunch from the pecans and you’re golden.

Granny’s Zucchini Bread

Makes 2 loaves

Ingredients:
3 eggs
1 c. vegetable oil
2 c. granulated sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. grated zucchini, peeled first (about 2 small or 1 large zucchini)
3 c. all-purpose flour
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. cinnamon
½ c. chopped pecans (I bought pre-packaged chopped pecans and chopped them even finer)
1 tsp. salt

Line the bottom of two 9×5” or 8×4” loaf pans. Spray with nonstick spray. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mix eggs, oil, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl. Add in zucchini and mix until combined.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Add to zucchini mixture in three parts, mixing only until combined. Stir in pecans.

Pour evenly into lined pans. Bake for 50-60 minutes, until a toothpick comes out with only moist crumbs. Let cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to cool completely.

4 thoughts on “granny’s zucchini bread, and birthday wishes

  1. Just A Smidgen

    This is the first time I’ve visited your blog. I have never heard the phrase drag it through the garden, I love it! Your gran must be a special gal. I have all my gran’s recipes as well… very precious.

    Reply
  2. aunt cheryl

    happy birthday colleen! just one more year till you are legal! how fun, then you can post some yummy alcohol drinks!!!! wishing you a great day!

    Reply

Leave a comment