caramelized onion quesadilla

I am in awe that this semester is already one-fourth of the way finished. Not to mention, I’m more than halfway done with college in general. How crazy is that? This weekend I received my first LSAT prep book in the mail. Talk about weird! I can’t even imagine graduating from this place, much less going to law school and then becoming a real adult with real world problems. Am I really going to know enough for them to let me out of here?

This quesadilla is my go-to meal. I love caramelized onions on anything really. But, coat that in cheese and carbs? You’re golden. Just thinking about this quesadilla has got my mouth-watering and my stomach growling. Is it time for caramelized onion nachos? I think yes!

Caramelized Onion Quesadilla

Makes 1 6-inch quesadilla

1 teaspoon butter
1 teaspoon oil
1/3 medium onion, thinly sliced
  salt and pepper
2 6-inch tortillas
½ cup cheese (I usually use queso Chihuahua)
  sour cream, salsa, if desired

In a small skillet over medium heat, add oil and melt butter. Add in onion. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for 20 minutes, until caramelized, stirring occasionally. Transfer to a separate bowl. Wipe out skillet with a paper towel to clean.

To the warmed skillet over medium heat, place a tortilla in flat. Sprinkle with all the cheese. Evenly spread caramelized onions. Top with remaining tortilla. Cook for about 4 minutes on the first side, until golden and crispy. Flip. Cook for about 3 more minutes, until the second side is crispy as well.

Cut into 8 slices. Serve with sour cream or salsa, if desired.

2 thoughts on “caramelized onion quesadilla

Leave a Reply

