s’mores hot chocolate

I made this hot chocolate a few weeks ago, when it was still in the 80s outside, with the main purpose of using my kitchen torch for the first time. You see, my mom gave it to me as a birthday present in August after months of pestering. But, after I received it, I couldn’t find any recipes that I really wanted to make with it.

But, I got the little nudge I need to use the kitchen torch to practice for chemistry lab where I thought I might have to use a torch. You know how they say practice makes perfect? Yeah… well, I probably need a lot more practice since I practically incinerated the marshmallows in the hot chocolate. Even with that faux pas, this hot chocolate turned out rich and delicious… and the graham cracker adds a needed crunchy garnish. I can’t wait until it gets even colder outside (it looks like it’s coming pretty soon!) so I can drink even more hot chocolate next to a fire on an overcast day. Something to daydream about…

Oh, and if you’re wondering, those are orange pumpkin-shaped marshmallow in the photo above. Gotta celebrate Halloween somehow!

S’mores Hot Chocolate

Serves 1

1 cup milk
2 ounces milk chocolate, roughly chopped
2 large marshmallows
½ graham cracker

Add milk to a small saucepan set over medium heat. Heat until milk is simmering. Remove from heat. Add chocolate and whisk until smooth and all chocolate has melted. Pour into a mug.

Add marshmallows to top. Lightly brown using a torch (alternatively, you could place the marshmallows on a baking sheet and broil for a minute or so, then add to the mug). Add graham cracker to garnish.

Source: Adapted from Our Best Bites

3 thoughts on “s’mores hot chocolate

Leave a Reply

