classic spaghetti and meatballs

Midterm week is finally over! I say that as if I had a multitude of exams to take this week… It was actually more like one (and maybe a half if you want to count a take-home essay). But, the end of midterm week also means the start of a two-day Fall break next week. So, this would seem like the correct place to talk about having a nice time relaxing, reading a nice book, maybe catching up on TV episodes I’ve missed. But, you see, as you probably already know, professors all over the world want to make sure that no one gets too bored on their time off, hence the pile of homework I have up to my knees.

On a more food-related note, I made these spaghetti and meatballs on a meatball-induced crave. I have to say, they’re pretty delicious, although they took me all afternoon to make. I am not exactly sure why; looking at the recipe, it only seems like it should take about an hour a half, maybe two hours to complete. That being said, I no longer allow myself to look at the “total time” section on most recipes because I know that I’ll probably end of doubling it. That being said, I tend to multi-task in the kitchen. Not multi-task in “I’m making two things at once” (although I also do that), more in the sense of “I’m watching a movie and cooking at the same time. And probably texting someone too.” Probably not the best of ideas, but I’m still alive.

Back to the meatballs. These are super juicy, especially with the melted mozzarella over the top. This would be great for a big Sunday dinner… nothing too off-the-wall ingredient-wise to scare off the family, if you know what I mean.

Finally, on a blog-related note, my sister, Lauren, agreed to take over this blog recipe-wise while I’m abroad. And, I must say, she’s turned into quite the homemaker since she moved to Chicago. I still plan on keeping this updated with my travel adventures, but who doesn’t want recipes too?

Classic Spaghetti and Meatballs

Makes 4-6 servings

Olive oil
1 Medium onion, chopped
2 Garlic cloves, minced
2 tbsp. chopped parsley
1 c. milk
4 slices white bread, crusts removed
1 ½ lb. ground beef
1 ½ lb. ground pork
1 Egg
½ c. grated Parmesan cheese
¼ c. flour
4 c. pasta sauce (Pomodoro Sauce recipe below)
½ lb. mozzarella, torn into chunks
1 lb. spaghetti

Bring a large pot of salted water to a rolling boil. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat with 3 tbsp. olive oil. Add onion, garlic, and parsley. Cook for about 7-10 minutes, until onion is translucent, but not browned. Let cool.

Moisten bread in a bowl with milk. In a separate large bowl, add beef, pork, egg, and cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Remove bread from bowl, squeeze out extra milk, and add to large bowl with meats. Add cooked vegetables. Combine all ingredients, but do not over-mix.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Reheat skillet over medium high heat with a bit of olive oil.  Separate meat mixture into about ten separate balls. Dust lightly with flour. Add to preheated pan. Cook for about 10 minutes, turning occasionally, until browned on all sides.

Transfer meatballs to a separate ovenproof pan. Spoon about 2 cups of pasta sauce over. Scatter with mozzarella cheese. Bake in preheated oven for about 15 minutes, until cooked through.

Cook spaghetti according to directions on box (it’s about 8 minutes). Drain. Add to bowl. Top with remaining sauce and cooked meatballs.

Pomodoro Sauce

Makes 4 cups 

2 28-oz. cans whole peeled San Marzano tomatoes, crushed by hand, drained and liquid reserved
½ c. extra-virgin olive oil
1 Medium onion, chopped
3 Garlic cloves, minced
¼ c. fresh basil leaves, torn in pieces

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Add onion and garlic. Cook for about 5 minutes, until onion is softened. Add tomatoes and ½ c. reserved liquid. Season with salt and pepper.

Cook over medium low heat for about 15 minutes, until sauce thickens. Bring to a boil, and then reduce to simmer. Simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Check seasoning and re-season with salt and pepper as needed.

Stir in fresh basil before serving.

Source: Tyler Florence

3 thoughts on “classic spaghetti and meatballs

  1. Karen

    I have enjoyed catching up with your posts now that i am back from Europe. I think you made a perfect “Sunday Feast” as my husband would say. By the way, we will all enjoy hearing about your adventure while you are away…recipes or not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

