chocolate pudding cookies with malted milk balls

I seriously love these cookies. They are super easy to make and super delicious to eat with a nice crunch from the malted milk balls inside. And I’m usually not a chocolate cookie kind of gal. It had been a while since I ventured in the cookie-baking realm, but I’m happy I went back, if only for a little bit. I forgot how perfect cookies can be for any situation: studying, vegging out on the couch… you name it, these cookies should probably make an appearance.

Just an FYI: the original recipe calls for 1 teaspoon of baking soda… but, I didn’t realize I didn’t have baking soda until I was already in the process of baking these, hence the substitution of 4 tsp. of baking powder. They turned out fine, but feel free to use baking soda.

Let me digress from food matters for just a moment. I find it my duty as a St. Louisan to brag a bit on the Cardinals this season and say how awesome watching the World Series was. Maybe if I had planned out a bit in advance, I could have made some yummy Cardinal/baseball-inspired treats… Maybe next year!

Chocolate Pudding Cookies

Makes 4 dozen cookies

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
¾ c. brown sugar
¼ c. granulated sugar
1 3.4-oz. instant chocolate pudding mix
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 ¼ c. all-purpose flour
4 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. table salt
1 c. milk chocolate chips
1 ¼ c. malted milk balls, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 350 °F. Line a cookie sheet with a silicon mat or parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter with brown sugar and granulated sugar with an electric mixer. Add in pudding mix, eggs, and vanilla extract. Mix until combined.

In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt. Slowly combine with wet ingredients. Fold in chocolate chips and malted milk balls.

Drop by rounded tablespoons onto prepared cookie sheets, about 1 inch apart. Bake in preheated oven for about 9-12 minutes. Keep in mind that the middles will still be a little gooey. Cool on baking sheet for about 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Adapted, slightly, fromTwo Peas & Their Pod

4 thoughts on “chocolate pudding cookies with malted milk balls

Leave a Reply

