chicken and cheese taquitos

I should probably start out with an apology for how long it has been since I last posted. Almost two weeks have gone by! And maybe I should apologize for the mediocre picture of these chicken and cheese taquitos. But, it’s hard to concentrate on photography when my stomach wants to eat itself because it’s so hungry.

I meant to post these earlier. Really. Like five or six days ago earlier. Then, I put it off thinking I would definitely have time on Wednesday. But, trust me… bad luck has been following me this week. Yep, Wednesday came with a lovely migraine, followed by my full water bottle spewing out its contents inside my book bag all over those overpriced books they force you to buy in college. And I was left with a nice puddle at my feet just in time for class to start.

Thursday, you ask? Well, I received the lovely news Thursday morning that my Biochemistry professor lost the take-home exam that I spent the better part of five hours slaving over during the weekend. Taking out the exam points would have been too easy. No… the nineteen people whose exams she lost (out of a class of about 30 people) were to redo the exam all over again, due by Tuesday. Great way to start my morning. (The good news is that she eventually found the exams.)

After that debacle, I went to research to find out one of the machines I normally use was broken. So, my advisor told me just write up a report outlining what I had done so far this semester. Great, I thought… I would be out in three hours max. Nope. Seven hours later… without food for almost nine hours, I stumbled out of that lab. Only to find out that my computer charger wouldn’t work. Ensue another migraine.

But, it’s 11/11/11 and I feel like my luck is changing. It’s Friday. Thank God. And my charger is randomly working again. Not to mention, I have the whole weekend to look forward to. And only one more week until Thanksgiving break.

I guess I should talk about the food? Maybe. I should have made these last night instead of ordering pizza. It would have been faster. And probably more nutritious. These taquitos are a super easy to put together. Not to mention, you could probably make them with whatever filling you want. But, I like this chicken and cheese filling. Try it. You might like it too.

Chicken and Cheese Taquitos

Makes 8 taquitos

1 10-oz. can chunk white chicken breast in water, drained and flaked
½ c. salsa
½ c. shredded Mexican cheese
¼ tsp. dry taco seasoning
8 6-inch tortillas (I prefer flour, but corn works too)
  Nonstick cooking spray, toothpicks, for assembly
  Sour cream, additional salsa, guacamole for dipping, if desired

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.In a small bowl, combine chicken and salsa. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 15 minutes.

Remove chicken and drain excess liquid. Add cheese and taco seasoning. Mix thoroughly. Place tortillas between two damp paper towels and microwave for about 1 minute

On a clean and dry surface, spray a tortilla lightly on both sides with nonstick cooking spray. Keep the rest of the tortillas covered. Add 2 tablespoons of chicken mixture and spread evenly over the entire surface of the tortilla. Roll up tightly. Secure with a toothpick. Place seam-side down on prepared baking sheet. Repeat with remaining tortillas.

Bake in preheated oven for about 15 minutes, until lightly browned and crispy. Let cool slightly before serving. Dip in sour cream, salsa, guacamole, or anything else you want.

Source: Lisa Lillien

5 thoughts on “chicken and cheese taquitos

  1. Karen

    A bad week indeed! Simple is best and what a clever thing to make with canned chicken. I bet those crunchy little things were good. Hope the next week goes smoother.

    Reply
  2. Just A Smidgen

    You poor thing.. I think that’s just about enough misfortune for… The remainder of the year! Stupid profs… That sounds like you’re being punished for their sloppiness! Complain or post a complaint… After you get your final mark of course!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

