cinnamon-sugar baked doughnuts

Is it doughnuts? Or donuts? I don’t know. And I can’t say I care about the spelling as long as I have one in hand.

Maybe I should have just sprinkled these with cinnamon and sugar instead of practically dumping as much as they could handle on top. But, in my book, the more sugar, the better.

I say that as I sit here drinking one of those sugar-filled energy drinks. But, hey, I was up for a while during the night worrying about this whole sublessee-turned-nightmare debacle. Then, pretty much as soon as I fell back asleep, the little woodpecker that likes to hang out by my bedroom wall in the early morning came to pay me  a visit. I wish he’d go peck on someone else’s wall.

If only I had one of these doughnuts (donuts?) right now…

cinnamon-sugar baked doughnuts

Makes 12 doughnuts

2 cup cake flour, sifted
¾ cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
¾ cup buttermilk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
6 tablespoons butter, melted
¼ cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425 °F. Spray a 6-cavity doughnut pan with nonstick cooking spray (or line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat).

In a large bowl, sift together flour, ¾ cup sugar, baking powder, ½ teaspoon cinnamon, and salt. Add buttermilk, eggs, and 2 tbsp. butter. Mix until just combined. Fill cavities of doughnut pan 2/3 of the way full (if you do not have a doughnut pan, you could pipe circles onto a baking sheet).

Bake for 7-9 minutes or until golden and the top springs back when lightly pressed. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then remove.

Mix together remaining sugar and cinnamon. Dip doughnuts in melted butter then sprinkle with (or dip into) cinnamon sugar mixture. Serve.

Source: Adapted, slightly, from Wilton 

2 thoughts on “cinnamon-sugar baked doughnuts

Leave a Reply

