haricot verts with honeyed pecans, blue cheese, and bacon

I think I should probably start this post off by telling you how much I love haricot verts and how much I love pecans and the combination of the two just make everything better.

That’s not the complete truth though. Honestly, I’ve never been a fan of green beans (besides the canned French-cut ones that hardly even resemble green beans). I don’t really even care for pecans that much… or any type of nut besides pistachios.

But, I do love bacon and blue cheese. I mean, who doesn’t?

My taste preferences aside, I do actually like this dish. Every flavor inside is pretty strong, but no one flavor overpowers the other. The honey also adds a nice touch of sweetness to the haricot verts.

And if you need complete approval of this dish from someone who actually likes to eat haricot verts and pecans, just ask my family. It’s a pretty good sign when all the veggies are gone at the end of dinner…

In other news, I went to a nearby craft store yesterday to pick up some supplies so I could venture into cake-pop-making. Anyhow, on my way back home…

…BOOM…

I was rear-ended. My very, very first accident. I suppose at least it wasn’t my fault and I wasn’t hurt or anything. My car is drivable, but definitely needs some repairs sometime soon.

All in the name of cake pops.

Haricot Verts with Honeyed Pecans, Blue Cheese, and Bacon

Makes 6 Servings

Ingredients:
4 slices thick-sliced bacon (or 6 slices regular bacon)
1 pound haricot verts, ends trimmed
¾ cup pecans, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon honey
4 ounces blue cheese (I used Stilton)

In a large frying pan, add bacon and cook until crisp. Remove to a paper towel. Once cool enough to handle, break up into pieces.

Add haricot verts to bacon grease on medium heat. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for about 10 minutes until tender.

Meanwhile, toast pecans in a medium non-stick pan over medium high heat. Once the pecans have a bit of color on them, add honey and toss until evenly coated. Leave on heat for 2 more minutes, tossing frequently. Add to pot with haricot verts along with crumbled bacon.

Once haricot verts are tender, remove to a serving dish. Crumble blue cheese on top and serve.

Source: Adapted from Claire Robinson 

3 thoughts on “haricot verts with honeyed pecans, blue cheese, and bacon

  1. Pingback: top five of 2012 | Drag it Through the Garden

Leave a Reply

