lighter crab rangoon dip with baked wonton chips

I feel like I’m headed off to the principal’s office, preparing to give some lame excuse for something I have done that doesn’t have any explanation whatsoever (flashback to the silly-putty-in-hair incident from my kindergarten days).

Except this time I’m supposed to explain why I abandoned this blog for so long and not why I put silly putty in my own hair.

I don’t have an excuse, really. It’s as simple as that. I have been busy (senior year, LSAT, getting ready to apply for law school, yada yada yada). My free time has been spent vegetating in front of the TV (hey, I’ll admit it got pretty bad during the Olympics, but who didn’t want to watch as much of that as they could? Ryan Lochte, anyone?) and on Pinterest.

And, if I am being completely honest with myself, you haven’t missed that much on the food-front with me. Some weird pasta I dabbled in, hard brownies, dry cupcakes, mushy rice. I’ll give myself credit for some of the yummy food I’ve made… but for the most part, I’ve been ordering Jimmy John’s, chucking a frozen pizza in the oven, or looking through my old repertoire.

So, I’m back. Surprise! And hopefully I’ll stick around for a while this time!

And I’m back with this delicious crab Rangoon dip. This dip reminds me of the holidays, probably because Momma used to make this during Christmastime. I had a massive craving for this stuff back in Spain, so I made it over the summer (yep… part of the veg out during the Olympics). But, I think a lot of people’s waistlines could use a little help during the winter months, myself included. All I want to do is eat and not work out and eat some more. So, I lightened this up a bit, adding Greek yogurt and cutting down on the fat where I could. Because, if it tastes the same in the end, why not?

lighter crab rangoon dip with baked wonton chips

Serves 6-8
Adapted from Food.com

Ingredients:

1 12-oz. package wonton wrappers
Nonstick cooking spray
Parmesan Cheese (I used Reduced Fat Parmesan Topping like the kind by Kraft)
8 oz. Neufchatel cheese (1/3 less fat Philadelphia brand cheese), room temperature
6 oz. (3/4 c.) reduced fat plain Greek yogurt
2 tbsp. milk
8 oz. imitation crabmeat (or canned crab, if desired), cut into small chunks
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
½ tsp. dried parsley
3 green onions, sliced
¼ c. sweet and sour sauce, plus more for topping

Preheat the oven to 375°C. Cut wonton wrappers in half diagonally and lay in a single layer on a baking sheet (you’ll probably need to cook these in batches). Spray wontons with nonstick cooking spray and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake for about 5-7 minutes, until golden.

In a medium bowl, add Neufchatel cheese, Greek yogurt, and milk. Stir until thoroughly combined. Add crabmeat, garlic powder, parsley, most of the green onions (reserve some for topping), and ¼ c. sweet and sour sauce. Season with salt and pepper. Stir until combined.

Transfer dip to an ovenproof dish and bake in preheated oven for about 10-15 minutes, until heated through. Alternatively, you can microwave until warm.

Sprinkle with remaining green onions and drizzle with sweet and sour sauce. Serve with wonton chips.

One thought on “lighter crab rangoon dip with baked wonton chips

  1. laddabee

    made this! didn’t have sweet and sour sauce sadly 😦 but it still came out yummy, i also diced up a jalapeno, gave it the kick it needed! also sprinkled a bit of salt on the wonton chips. thanks for this recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

