colleen’s spinach salad

spinach salad | drag it through the garden

I love salads with raw baby spinach. Anything with cooked spinach, however, I will definitely pass on. I feel like a five-year-old that won’t eat her vegetables, but I just can’t handle it. I try to convince myself that I like cooked spinach (aka I force myself to eat it over and over again), but it hasn’t worked. I’m still in the process of trying to convince myself that I like raw tomatoes too. I feel no different towards raw tomatoes than the day I started.

Anyhow, back to the raw baby spinach. My version of a spinach salad.  I say “my version” because this is by no means the “classic” version of a spinach salad. I don’t care for hard-boiled eggs and I try to steer clear of most nuts (Is it just me or am I sounding super picky? I promise I’m not!). In honor of my dietary dislikes, I made this salad without the nuts and the eggs. And I made sure I cooked the onion, too. Not only because the one I had was pretty hot, but cooking them brings out a bit more sweetness as well.

On a holiday note, Lauren, my mom, my dad, and I went to go see Trans-Siberian Orchestra on Thursday. Super amazing. My mom and dad went last year with some other people (and didn’t invite me! Can you believe it?). I’ve been begging them for years to go and it finally happened. And it was great! The musical talent, the lights, and everything all combined just made it an extraordinary experience to remember. I’m already thinking about next year (and I better be invited again!).

lauren and colleen

Lauren and me at Trans-Siberian Orchestra concert

colleen’s spinach salad

Makes 1 Serving

Ingredients:
2 strips bacon, thinly sliced
¼ small red onion, thinly sliced
½ teaspoon sesame seeds
½ teaspoon poppy seeds
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar (other kinds of vinegar will work)
½ tablespoon olive oil*
1 teaspoon sugar
2 cups baby spinach

Add bacon to a cold skillet. Turn on burner to medium heat. Once bacon starts to sizzle, add in red onion. Cook for about 5 minutes, or until bacon is just crisp and onion is cooked through, stirring occasionally. Add in sesame seeds and poppy seeds. Cook for about a minute longer, until sesame seeds are lightly toasted.

Add in red wine vinegar, olive oil, and sugar. Cook until heated through, about thirty seconds. Toss with baby spinach and serve.

*If a lot of grease comes off the bacon, you may want to decrease the amount of olive oil you add. There should be about one tablespoon of fat total (bacon grease + olive oil).

One thought on “colleen’s spinach salad

  1. Pingback: cinnamon-sugar candied pecans | Drag it Through the Garden

Leave a Reply

