lemon crinkle cookies (aka lemon cool-whip cookies)

lemon crinkle cookies | drag it through the garden

Hands down, lemon crinkle cookies my all-time favorite cookies. And if I ever tell you otherwise, do not believe me. I probably just forgot about these. In three words, these cookies are gooey, lemony (I would be worried if you didn’t guess that one from the title), and incredibly easy (does that count as one word?). Only five ingredients! I think that’s pretty awesome for any cookie.

I used to beg my mom for these cookies all. the. time. Truth is, I still do. I was craving them during most of my stay in Spain. But, I never baked these with her or even glanced at the recipe until a few days before this past Christmas. And I was pretty shocked. You would never know from the taste of these cookies that they only require five ingredients, much less a box of cake mix.

So, consider these a new staple in my kitchen, even though Momma always makes them best.

lemon crinkle cookies (aka lemon cool-whip cookies)

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1 8-oz. container frozen whipped topping, thawed
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 18.25-oz box lemon cake mix
1/2 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with silicon baking mats or parchment paper or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large bowl, beat thawed whipped topping and eggs. Stir in vanilla. Mix in cake mix until just combined. Place powdered sugar in a bowl. Drop dough by teaspoonfuls into powdered sugar and roll around until completely coated. Place on prepared baking sheets. Bake for 8-10 minutes in the preheated oven. Let cool on baking sheets for about 2 minutes, then remove to cooling racks to cool completely.

5 thoughts on “lemon crinkle cookies (aka lemon cool-whip cookies)

      1. Kara

        I have made these using several different flavors of cake mix. My fav is key lime pie made from a newly released key lime cake mix from pilsbury (I think).

        Reply
  1. Nee

    Loved the lemon flavor but they were a little sweet for me, maybe sugar free cool whip would work better. Also the texture of mine turned out more like cake than cookies. Still delicious though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

