cinnamon-sugar candied pecans

cinnamon-sugar candied pecans | drag it through the garden

Classes begin again on Monday. It’s my last semester for undergraduate coursework. And whoever said the last semester is the easiest never saw my schedule. I will try my best to not throw myself frequent pity parties on here, but I can’t guarantee anything.

But, on to the point of this post. Cinnamon-sugar candied pecans.

I have shared with you before that I don’t care that much for pecans, or nuts of any kind, but I decided to make these for part of my dad’s Christmas present. And let’s be honest, he’s lucky he ended up with anything because, for the few days that these pecans sat in my kitchen waiting for me to wrap them up, I could not stop munching on them. They’re sweet with just a tiny touch of spice. But, feel free to bump up the heat a bit if you wish.

P.S. If you haven’t seen it yet, check out Drag it Through the Garden’s new Facebook page (and become a fan) and follow my Pinterest boards to see all the recipes I’m saving!

cinnamon-sugar candied pecans

Makes 16 ounces

Ingredients:
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 ½ teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 egg white, room temperature
1 tablespoon water
16 oz. pecans (or any other nuts you fancy)

Preheat oven to 300°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicon baking mat. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, mix together granulated sugar, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, and cayenne. Set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together egg white and water until frothy. Add in pecans and toss until coated. Sprinkle over sugar mixture and mix until pecans are evenly coated.

Spread out pecans on prepared baking sheet and bake in the preheated oven for 30 minutes, tossing occasionally. Let cool completely on baking sheet, separating pecans from each other every once in a while. Remove to a container or airtight bag to store, separating pecans as you transfer.

Source: Smitten Kitchen

3 thoughts on “cinnamon-sugar candied pecans

  1. foods for the soul

    This is my absolutely favorite way to eat pecans!! I’m not a big nut fan either, but add cinnamon to anything and I’ll eat every last bite. I’ve also seen recipes that add a sprinkle of cayenne to their cinnamon sugar for an extra spicy kick. I’d love to try that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

