papa g.’s famous caesar salad

caesar salad | drag it through the garden

Papa G.’s Famous Caesar Salad. No, I did not come up with that name myself. My dad did. And I could only publish the recipe if I stuck to his name.

I have been backlogged for forever, so this recipe should not have made an appearance on here for a couple of weeks. But, due to the polite request (read: mild harassment) of my father, I am posting it now.

This recipe has been in my family for ages, which is why I was initially torn about whether or not to relinquish it to the public. I remember trying to learn every step in the kitchen by my dad’s side. Then came the scary task of attempting to make the salad myself, which sometimes proved to be a tedious process as I tasted and tested until the proportions were just right. Now I have made this salad so much, I can tell when it is right solely by its appearance.

I absolutely hate ordering Caesar salads in restaurants because, nine times out of ten, I get what tastes like jarred Caesar dressing with a tiny bit of Parmesan and a couple of croutons over limp lettuce. But, this salad? I would replace every other Caesar salad with this salad if I could. Seriously.

papa g.’s famous caesar salad

Makes 4 to 6 servings

Ingredients:
¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
1 2-oz. tin anchovy filets, thinly sliced and oil reserved
2 cloves garlic, finely minced or pressed
½ teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
3 heaping tablespoons mayonnaise
1 heaping tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 large (or 3 small) hearts of romaine, torn into bite-size pieces
½ cup croutons (whatever kind you want)
2 teaspoons granulated sugar
¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
juice from half a lemon

In a large bowl, whisk together olive oil, sliced anchovies and reserved oil, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, mayonnaise, and Dijon mustard until well combined. Toss romaine with dressing until evenly coated. Add in croutons, sugar, Parmesan, and lemon juice and thoroughly mix. It is recommended to serve in frosted bowls (just place you bowls in the freezer an hour or so before you’re going to eat!).

3 thoughts on “papa g.’s famous caesar salad

  1. Pingback: cheesy broccoli and cauliflower stuffed spuds | Drag it Through the Garden

Leave a Reply

