baked ham and swiss sandwiches with poppy seeds

baked ham and swiss sandwiches with poppy seeds | drag it through the garden

You might recognize these sandwiches. Yep, I have posted them on here before. I did not know whether I should post them again. It felt a bit like turning in the same paper to two different professors.

…not that I would know…

But, I made these for dinner with spicy kale chips and it felt like a waste not to take pictures. And then when I compared the old pictures with the new ones (ignoring those not-so-pretty blinds in the background), I decided I in favor of re-publishing this recipe. Cut in half, of course. Because, as much as I love these sandwiches, I do not think I could eat 24 all by myself.

I told you before how I was voted “Most Likely to Open a Sandwich Shop” in my Spanish class solely because of these sandwiches.

I was also voted “Most Likely to Be Married First.” And while I don’t actively keep up with my fellow students from that class, no news of any engagement has appeared on Facebook. And Facebook knows everything, obviously. So, I suppose I still have a chance to fulfill both superlatives, although the second seems a lot more likely right now than the first.

Speaking of marriage, does anyone watch “The Bachelor” or “The Bachelorette”? Well, Lauren and I watched an entire season of “The Bachelorette” last week, the season with Emily Maynard (hey, it’s addicting). Anyhow, Jef is so freaking adorable. Who comes up with these sticky sweet things to say while avoiding sounding corny or like he did something wrong? Because, let’s face it, a lot (or at least some) of the sweet things that comes out of some guys’ mouth are just a way to butter you up before dropping a bomb. Like they turned all of your whites to pink in the wash…

baked ham and swiss sandwiches with poppy seeds

Makes 12 sandwiches

Ingredients:
12 dollar buns or small rolls, sliced in half
¼ pound deli ham
3 slices Swiss cheese, cut into four pieces each
¼ cup butter (1/2 stick), melted
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon poppy seeds
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 350°F. Assemble sandwiches by evenly distributing ham and cheese to each bun. Replace top part of bun on top of cheese. Place sandwiches in a 9×13” pan.

In a small bowl, mix together butter, brown sugar, poppy seeds, Dijon mustard, and Worcestershire sauce. Drizzle over sandwiches. Bake in the preheated oven for 10-15 minutes, until sandwiches are heated through and cheese is slightly melted.

Leave a Reply

