brown sugar bacon-wrapped smokies

brown sugar bacon-wrapped smokies | drag it through the gardenNo, I did not know the Superbowl was this coming Sunday until I heard someone behind me talking about it at the hockey game. And everyone starting posting Superbowl food on their blogs and Pinterest. That was kind of a not-so-subtle hint.

So, you might think I took some initiative and made these delicious bacon-wrapped brown sugar smokies to post on here especially for the Superbowl. Suuureee I did! Except they might have been made a few days post-Christmas and I just never got around to putting them on here. You decide.

On another note, I am really, really sorry that I have not been responding to any comments. I promise that I am reading them! As I’m sure you have heard from me a bajillion times before, my life is pretty hectic right now. Whoever said last semester senior year is the easiest is a flat-out liar. I feel like this is the busiest I have ever been.

It does not help that there are all these TV shows that I want to watch instead of doing homework. Well, there are plenty of things I would rather do than homework.

Like eat these sweet and savory smokies. That’s not a bad idea!

brown sugar bacon-wrapped smokies

Makes 1 pound

Ingredients:
16 oz. smokies
about 12 oz. bacon, cut into thirds
¾ cup brown sugar
toothpicks

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and do it well. If you don’t, you’ll have a not-so-fun pan to clean… if you can get it clean!

Take a smokie, wrap it in a piece of bacon, and stick a toothpick in it to hold in place. Place on prepared pan. Repeat until all smokies are wrapped. Sprinkle with brown sugar and toss until even coated.

Refrigerate overnight.

Preheat oven to 325°F. Place pan in preheated oven. Bake for 50 minutes, until bacon is slightly crisp and sugar is bubbling.

Leave a Reply

