cheesy broccoli and cauliflower stuffed spuds

cheesy broccoli and cauliflower stuffed potatoes | drag it through the gardenLooking for a meat-free meal for the upcoming Lent season? I know I am. Maybe these baked potatoes stuffed with a cheesy broccoli and cauliflower filling will do the trick. You could always try it with a caesar salad or maybe my mom’s seven layer salad (just take out the bacon on that one for a meatless option).

This is the first time I have updated this blog since the end of January. And while that is good news right now (free time!) that was horrible news for the past week and a half. But, alas, I am back. And hopefully this little bit of extra time I have this week will allow me to get all my ducks in a row and get ahead of the game. Maybe.

Or else I will just spend that time catching up on TV shows I missed…

To be honest, I do not have that much of a life update if you are looking for one. I have decided to erase all of last week out of my memory. Because it was awful. Besides dinner with some friends Wednesday night. Shrimp and crab risotto and fro yo afterwards? Yes, please!

Okay, okay. Between these two paragraphs I just decided to check and see if an exam grade was up. I took this exam on Friday and I swore it absolutely murdered me. If I am going to be completely honest, I just wanted to go home and cry afterwards. But, I did not get that opportunity because I had to go to another class to take another exam.

Long story short, I ended up receiving a solid A on that first one. Maybe last week wasn’t so bad after all…

cheesy broccoli and potato stuffed baked potatoes

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:
4 russet potatoes
1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1 ½ teaspoons coarse salt
6 cups mixed broccoli and cauliflower
3 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon mustard powder
2 ½ cups milk
1 ½ cups grated cheddar cheese
1 ½ cups grated Gruyere cheese

Preheat oven to 400°F. On a baking sheet, rub potatoes with 1 tablespoon olive oil and coarse salt. Bake in preheated oven for about 1.5-2 hours, until cooked through with crispy skin.

Heat remaining 2 teaspoons olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add broccoli and cauliflower. Season with salt and pepper and cover. Cook for about 5-7 minutes, until cooked through, stirring occasionally. Set aside.

Meanwhile, in a 2-quart pot over medium heat, melt butter. Whisk in flour and mustard powder. Slowly whisk in milk. Continue whisking until no lumps are present. Stir in cheddar and Gruyere cheese. Heat until melted. Carefully fold in cooked broccoli and cauliflower. Cut potatoes in half lengthwise and spoon cheesy broccoli and cauliflower mixture inside. Serve.

Source: Adapted from Whole Foods

Leave a Reply

